Back in the day

9 Apr

I’ve been looking back to my childhood & previous years as recent inspiration. I recently ran across a blog entry from A Cup of Jo that had a pictorial of stuffed animals. It got me thinking about that one toy we all had as a kid that we would be devastated if ever lost, even to this day. I have a stuffed lamb (LambyPie) that has been by my side for 23 years. She’s sitting on my bed right now, as a matter of fact. I remember, about 3 years ago, I thought I had lost her & went into a panic. I cried for a good three days. It was like loosing my child. It didn’t help that my mom found my old baby book that same night & the entry she randomly decided to read was about my first encounter with LambyPie (my very first Easter, she was waiting for me in my yellow basket). Oh, I just about wanted to kill myself. Turns out, my sweet little lamb had fallen down the side of my bed & was stuck between the wall & my dust-ruffle. Needless to say, when I found her, we (me, mom, & even though he thought it was really dumb- my brother) threw a little “thank god you’re okay/we love you” party. Hah, yeah…well…ever since then, LambyPie has been carefully placed everywhere she goes. I haven’t let her out of my sight. She’s been to Costa Rica, Mexico, Greece, Switzerland, all over the US- made pit stops in France, Italy, Germany, the United Kingdom….she’s very worldly. I just adore her.

Leave a Reply

