“Inside all of us, there is a Wild Thing”

15 Oct

ssendak1“Where The Wild Things Are” opens tonight, & just like everyone else, I am so excited I could burst! However, I won’t be seeing it until Saturday because I promised Kyle I would wait for him to drive up from Los Angeles. Oh, the things I do for people I love….

San Francisco played host to one of the premiers this past week. Of course, only a select, special few were invited because ol’ Spike Jonze + cast were all in attendance. I don’t believe they even had a red carpet or anything. I could be wrong, but I don’t remember hearing anything about it. I had wished on my not-so-lucky stars that I may somehow score an invitation to this little shindig, but as you can see, that obviously (& unfortunately) didn’t happen.sendak4

The premier was held at the Jewish museum in the Mission, where there is currently a rather large Sendak exhibit on display. If you live in the Bay Area, I highly recommend going. It’s pretty incredible: very sweet, simple, & comforting to stroll through. I think everyone felt like they were taking a stroll down childhood the day I was there. You could tell by the looks on everyones faces that we were all feeling the same way- peaceful, wanting to rewind 20 or so years, etc. The exhibit is called There’s a Mystery There: Sendak on Sendak, & displays many illustrations from his 60 year career as an illustrator & author. It will be around until January, so you have some time to catch it before it leaves town.

How fitting to hold a Sendak exhibit right before the second most highly anticipated film of 2009, yeah? (C’mon, you know “Harry Potter & the Movie That Left Out All the Important Parts from the Book” was #1) I realize it was planned & all, don’t get me wrong- I’m not that dumb. The Jewish Museum sure is rakin’ in lots of money, that’s for sure. Fair enough though, it really is a great display to see. & let’s be honest, the Jewish museum (much like every other museum aside from MoMA & the DeYoung) could use the traffic: it, unfortunately, doesn’t see too much any other time.

sendak2

sendak3

Leave a Reply

