“They tell me I look like hell. I tell them I’m a writer, so it’s okay.”

7 Oct

I just got home from meeting my favorite author, Nick Hornby. I have been an avid follower of his for about 7 or 8 years. We spoke for a few minutes about Bruce Springsteen & New York. I don’t recall how we got on the topic of either, but it happened & my heart sunk to my feet.

I’ve always pulled a lot of inspiration from Hornby. Hell, I probably have him to thank for making me choose a creative path in life rather than a business one.

Also, I took a lot comfort in knowing that he hated the film version of “Fever Pitch” as much as everyone else. What a brilliant & lovely man. It was truly an honor to spend some time with him. It’s something I’ll hold close to my heart for the rest of my life.

3 Responses to ““They tell me I look like hell. I tell them I’m a writer, so it’s okay.””

  1. Mr. Mister 10/07/2009 at 5:39 pm #

    Fever Pitch was probably one of the most ill-fated adaptations of all time. Next to The Watchmen, which is completely unrelated- but worth mentioning.

  2. Backwoods Fashionista 10/07/2009 at 6:07 pm #

    I never saw The Watchmen. The only reason I wanted to was to see Billy Crudup naked. But I figured I could do that via Google & save myself $20. The rest of the movie looked like a continuous yawn.

  3. Mr. Mister 10/08/2009 at 7:33 am #

    Not a yawn. It makes you want to be VERY vocal about your disapproval.

Leave a Reply

