The miracle drug

5 Oct

sfweed

I live in San Francisco, California: a place where people share weed with police officers while sitting on the steps of City Hall & where marijuana stores are as common as grocery stores.

My parents know I smoke pot, as do a lot of other people. I’ve never tried to hide it from anyone. Why would I? A lot of people also know that I have a new found respect & understanding of my faith & that I am doing all I can to be closer with God.

Today, however, someone questioned my faith by asking: “How can you be a Christian & true follower of Jesus Christ if you smoke a lot of pot? It’s a sin.”

Ah, the “it’s a sin” card- much like the “it gives you cancer” card. I feel people use these lines when they have nothing else to back up their reasoning as to why they think it’s bad. In a way, it’s kind of like saying “i love you” just so you can have sex with someone.

Anyway- technically, the Bible doesn’t ever mention marijuana. Secondly, the marijuana plant is natural: put here by God himself. Thirdly, God gave this plant (along with every other plant) as a “gift” for Noah to eat. I believe the exact line is: “every living thing that is alive shall be food for you; I gave all to you, as I gave the green plant. Only you shall not eat flesh with it’s life, that is, its blood.” & Fourthly, God does not provide a list of rules that tells us what we can & cannot do. He gives us principles by which to live. He’s after my heart & nothing else.

After I stated these things to homeboy, he started battling me with Bible versus. I don’t remember most of them, but the one I do said “For God will judge us for everything we do, including every hidden thing, good or bad.” Personally, I don’t think this has anything to do with marijuana. I think this completely questions what one believes is good & what one believes is bad. I don’t think marijuana is bad. If it is, why did He put it here to begin with? & if I did believe it was bad, I wouldn’t do it. Much like I don’t do other bad things like killing people or stealing from my loved ones. I’m honestly going to be put in the same category as killers & thieves because I smoke weed? Doubtful.

I quickly got bored with the argument & ended up just sort of listening to him blab on about me being a hypocritical Christian. Coming from him (a walking STD/willing to give free samples Sperm bank with a Jesus Christ tattoo), I took the insult with a grain of salt.

However, I did leave him with this (which I will also leave with you):

“Every moving thing that liveth shall be meat for you; even as the green herb have I given you all things” (Genesis 9:3)

2 Responses to “The miracle drug”

  1. Mr. Mister 10/06/2009 at 1:49 pm #

    Well, there was one list God gave people that dictated what people could and couldn’t do…

    Marijuana wasn’t on that list though.

  2. writerpro25 06/28/2010 at 9:31 am #

    I think that weed really has nothing to do with religion unless you want it to. I am jewish and smoke a shit load of weed, but never see it as conflicting with my religious beliefs. http://stonerdiary.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

