Songbird

28 Sep

Obviously, people pull a lot of happiness, beauty, & inspiration from the music they listen to. Music is very important to me, as I am guessing it is for most people.

It’s nearly 2am, & I can’t sleep a wink. Here are some songs that tickle my fancy.

All-time favorite songs:

“Sweet Virginia”- The Rolling Stones

“One Way Out”- The Allman Brothers

“Maggie May”- Rod Stewart

“Oh, Josephine”- The Black Crowes

01. “Cotton Fields”- Creedence Clearwater Revival (originally Leadbelly)

02. “Poison”- Alice Cooper

03. “Ophelia”- The Band

04. “I’m On Fire”- Bruce Springsteen

05. “Memphis, Tennessee”- Chuck Berry

06. “Proud Mary”- Creedence Clearwater Revival

07. “My Fathers Gun”- Elton John

08. “Heartbreak Hotel”- Elvis

09. “Big Love”- Fleetwood Mac

10. “My Sweet Lord”- George Harrison

11. “Rich Girl”- Hall & Oats

12. “Instant Karma”- John Lennon

13. “Lost Highway”- Hank Williams Sr.

14. “Moon River”- Henry Mancini

15. “Let It All Out (Let It All Hang Out)”- The Hombres

16. “Crossroads”- Hound Dog Taylor

17. “Take Five”- Hound Dog Taylor

18. “Somebodys Baby”- Jackson Browne

19. “That’s Life”- James Brown (originally Frank Sinatra)

20. “A Boy Named Sue”- Johnny Cash

21. “Hoodoo Man Blues”- Junior Wells

22. “Since I’ve Been Loving You”- Led Zeppelin

23. “Church”- Lyle Lovett

24. “Swamp Music”- Lynard Skynard

25. “Louisiana Blues”- Muddy Waters

26. “A Whiter Shade of Pale” -Procol Harem

27. “Beast of Burden”- The Rolling Stones

28. “Hotel Chelsea Nights”- Ryan Adams

29. “Lazy Bones”- Skip James

30. “Baby Please Don’t Go”- Van Morrison

31. “Macon Hambone Blues”- Wet Willie

32. “A Change Is Gonna Come”- Sam Cooke

33. “Bring It On Home To Me”- Wilson Pickett

If you’re a sweet pal of mine, you may be wondering why Tom Petty & Thin Lizzy are not listed. Simple. I could name about 33 of my favorite songs for each of them. It was too hard to chose one song to put on this list, so I just left both of them out. You can’t really go wrong with any Tom Petty or Thin Lizzy.

Enjoy these tunes.

2 Responses to “Songbird”

  1. JimmyBean 10/01/2009 at 4:41 am #

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  2. Bill Bartmann 10/09/2009 at 6:38 am #

    what a great site and informative posts, I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

